As one of the leading attorneys in the area, Dalby • Wyant is dedicated to representing, supporting and educating Northern California residents. To that end, we have compiled 5 of the most discussed new California laws in 2018.

If you have any questions about these new laws or wish to discuss another legal matter, please contact us here.


Minimum wage increases to $10.50 per hour for employers with 25 or fewer workers, $11 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees.

Employees in California must be paid the minimum wage as required by state law (with few exceptions). Effective as of January 1, 2017, the minimum wage for all industries was set t be increased yearly. This increase was delayed one year for employers with 25 or fewer employees (from January 1, 2018, to January 1, 2023). To view the complete schedule of rate increases, visit

Learn More About California’s Minimum Wage Here


Under Bill 693, all ammunition sales must be made in person through a State Department of Justice officially licensed vendor. Out of state purchases and internet purchases must also go through a vendor. The law does not apply city, county, state or federal government law enforcement professionals.

This does not apply to the loan of a firearm or ammunition to a person enrolled in a course of basic training prescribed by the Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training (, or any other course certified by the commission, for training or participation in the course (or other certified courses).

View Bill 693 Here



Existing California law grants the Labor Commissioner access and investigative authorization to places of work and allows prosecution in relation to the duties of the office.

Bill 450 protects workers from immigration enforcement while on the job. An employer is not allowed to let an immigration agent enter private work areas without a warrant. Violating employers can face fines up to $10,000.

Read more about Bill 450



Bill 219 strengthens an existing laws, providing regulation of residential care facilities for the elderly and make it unlawful to discriminate against any person in any housing accommodation on the basis of (among others), sex, gender, gender identity, gender expression, or sexual orientation. This bill makes it unlawful for a facility to act against an individual on the basis of any of the afore mentioned, or on their HIV status. This includes admission denial, transfer, refusal of transfer, discharge or eviction of LGBT residents.

See the full version of Bill 219



The legal use of recreational marijuana went into effect January 1, 2018. While it is dependent on individual cities to create their own regulations, the state of California has some broad rules. Examples of these are: cannabis shops have to be at least 600 feet away from schools and must close by 10 p.m. California Government has created a website,, that is still in development, but does offer some information for you to learn more about Bill 133.

Read the full bill here